Andromede is an IN2P3
research platform

Andromede is an interdisciplinary platform of the Laboratoire de Physique des 2 infinis Irène Joliot-Curie - IJCLab (UMR9012) which contribute to the scientific and technical skills development of Paris Saclay University. It is open to the academic and industrial world in the fields of biology, biochemistry, astrophysics and astro-chemistry, molecular chemistry, and chemistry and physics of materials.

Applications

Biology, Health,
Ionic Imaging

Astro-chemistry,
Cosmo-materials,
Ion imaging

Implantation
in materials

R&D
Ion source

Technology

Accelerator and ion source

The ion beams are accelerated at high energy by a 4MV NEC Pelletron ® accelerator. The voltage can be adjusted from 500 kV to 4 MV. The terminal of this accelerator is designed to receive two kinds of ion sources, an electron cyclotron resonance (ECR) source and a liquid metal ion source (LMIS).

The ECR source is a Microgan manufactured by Pantechnik with a RF frequency of 10GHz and a magnetic well adjustment allowing the production of multi-charged atomic ions or molecular ions. The LMIS column is an Orsay Physics filtered column, incorporating the mass selection of ions delivered by the sourcenamed NAPIS (Nano Particles Ion Source) which produces atomic ions, cluster and metallic nanoparticles.

Beam lines

The Andromede platform has three experimental lines behind an analysis magnet: A 90° line for selecting atomic and molecular beams of ions with mass-to-charge ratios of less than 70 (e.g. Germanium, Ge+) for an acceleration voltage of 4 MV.

A beam line at 1°29 is dedicated mainly to macromolecules and gold cluster beams. A third beam line can be made available at 70°.

Each beam line is equipped with diagnostic ion beam for determining position, size and intensity. The slots allow a selection of beam sizes from mm to hundreds of μm.

Ion beams and characteristics: Source ECR Microgan

The ions produced by this source are selected at the accelerator terminal by a Wien filter.

The ECR source, in its multi-charged atomic ion configuration, provides very high beam intensity, up to 500 μA for Helium, 100 μA for carbon and even 40 μA for argon A4+ and a few μA for A8+.

In the configuration favoring the production of molecular ions we obtain a few μA of H2+, CnHm+, (n = 1-3, m = 1-8) , 50 -100 μA of CO1-2+ (100 μA of CO + and 50 μA of CO2+ ) and 20 μA of SF5+. Other molecular gases can be envisaged and tens of nA of C60n+ can be produced by using an oven.

Ion beams and characteristics: Source LMIS NAPIS

The NAPIS column is equipped with a LMIS (Liquid Metal Ion Source) providing beams of metallic atomic ions, clusters and nanoparticles. The intensities of these beams, for 20 kV acceleration, are about 50 nA for atomic ions, several to ten nA for clusters and around the nA for nanoparticles of 400 gold atoms. The diameter of these quasi-parallel beams injected into the accelerator is of the order of 500 microns. Currently gold and bismuth are used, but other metals such as gallium, tin, indium, silver can also be adapted.

Sources d’ions R&D

In addition to the accelerator platform, ionic columns equipped with the ECR source and the NAPIS source are available to test source developments and to produce new beams. These devices are also available for analysis and material modifications in the low energy range (a few keV).

Team

Partners of EQUIPEX Andromede

investissement-davenir-nbinvestissement-davenir
Funding
logo-IJCLab-200x200-nblogo-IJCLab-200x200-coul
Science
Science
Science
Science
Science
Science
Industry

Collaborations

Science
Science
Science
Science
Industry
Industry
parallax background

Andromede for everyone

Andromede delivers a wide variety of ion beams with energies ranging from a few hundred keV to several MeV. a. Atomic beams from proton to gold. Rare gases He, Ne, Ar, Kr and Xe are also available. b. Molecular beams from the simplest CO, CH4 to large clusters of C60. c. Metal cluster ions of gold (currently) from dimer to nanoparticles comprising up to 1000 atoms.

 An analysis magnet allows selection of ions based on their mass to charge ratio and energy. Three lines are available, corresponding to the deflection angles of 90°, 70° for light atomic and molecular ions, and 1°29 for cluster ions and nanoparticles.

On the 90° and 70° line can be performed nuclear physics experiments (eg. Stella of the IPHC), or installed irradiation stations to simulate the effects of radiation.

On the 1°29 line, a mass spectrometer with an electron and proton emission microscope allows micrometric ion imaging. This line is open for studies of particle-surface interactions, modification of materials, surface analysis and ionic imaging.

Science

In the field of nanotechnologies and surfaces, Andromede responds to the great need of very high resolution surface analysis tools both in mass spectrometry and in ion imaging. Access to the chemical characterization of a nanometric volume is envisaged.

Citizen & Human Health

Andromeda will have a considerable impact in the field of human health via studies carried out on bacteria and their interactions with the brain and withcells in the intestines, for example, which will lead to a better understanding of the harmful and beneficial mechanisms of these interactions.

Research

Andromeda remains unique in Europe by the wide range of available probes and allows France to complete its range of techniques of nano-characterization, surface analysis and simulation for materials in the fields of chemistry, biology, physics and astro-chemistry.

Training

Andromeda will be accessible to doctoral students, engineers and researchers. Trainings will be available on a number of topics such as the interaction between ions and matter, properties of the material, as well as high resolution instrumentation.

Economy

The use of Andromeda by the industry will allow analysis in a wide variety of areas such as materials, human health and energy.

Andromede

 
EN

Andromède est une plateforme de recherche IN2P3

Andromède est une plateforme interdisciplinaire de l’Institut de Physique Nucléaire d’Orsay (UMR8608) adossée aux compétences scientifiques et techniques de l’Université Paris Saclay. Elle est ouverte aux mondes académique et industriel dans les domaines de la biologie, biochimie, astrophysique et astrochimie, chimie moléculaire et chimie et physique des matériaux.

Applications

Biologie, Santé,
Imagerie Ionique

Astro-chimie,
Cosmo-matériaux,
Imagerie ionique

Implantation dans
les matériaux

R&D
Source d’ions

Technologie

Accélérateur et source d’ion

Les faisceaux d'ions sont accélérés à haute énergie par un accélérateur NEC Pelletron® de 4MV. La tension peut être ajustée de 500 kV à 4 MV. Le terminal de cet accélérateur est conçu pour recevoir deux types de sources d’ions, une source à résonance cyclotronique électronique (ECR) et une source d'ions à métal liquide (LMIS).

La source ECR est une Microgan fabriquée par Pantechnik qui a une fréquence RF de 10 GHz et possède un ajustement du puit magnétique permettant la production d’ions atomiques multichargés et d’ions moléculaires. La colonne LMIS est une colonne filtrée d’OrsayPhysics, incorporant la sélection en masse des ions extraits de la source. Cette source nommée NAPIS (Nano Particules Ion Source) produit des ions atomiques, des agrégats et des nanoparticules métalliques.

Lignes de faisceau

La plateforme Andromède possède trois lignes expérimentales derrière un aimant d’analyse :
Une ligne à 90° permettant de sélectionner des faisceaux atomiques et moléculaires de l’hydrogène jusqu’aux ions de rapport masse sur charge inférieur à 70 (par exemple Germanium, Ge+) pour une accélération de 4 MV.

Une ligne à 1°29 dédiée principalement aux faisceaux de macromolécules jusqu’aux agrégats d’or. Une troisième ligne de faisceau peut être mise à disposition à 70°.

Chaque ligne de faisceau est équipée de diagnostic permettant la détermination de la position, de la taille et la mesure de l’intensité. Des fentes permettent une sélection de la taille du faisceau du mm à la centaine de µm.

Faisceaux d’ions et caractéristiques : Source ECR Microgan

Les ions produits par cette source sont sélectionnés au terminal de l’accélérateur par un filtre de Wien.

La source ECR, dans sa configuration ions atomiques multichargés, fournit des faisceaux très intenses atteignant 500 µA pour l’hélium 100 µA pour le carbone et même 40 µA pour l’argon A4+ et quelques µA d’A8+.

Dans la configuration favorisant la production d’ions moléculaires. Les faisceaux de molécules de types H2+ , CnHm+ (n=1-3,m=1-8) de quelques µA, CO1-2+ ( 100 µA de CO+  et 50 µA de CO2+ ) et SF5+  avec des intensités de 20 µA. Les autres gaz moléculaires peuvent être envisagés et des dizaines de nano-ampères de C60n+  peuvent être produits en associant un four.

Faisceaux d’ions et caractéristiques : Source LMIS NAPIS

La colonne NAPIS est équipée d’une source de type LMIS (Liquid Metal Ion Source) fournit des faisceaux d’ions atomiques, d’agrégats et de nanoparticules d’or. Les intensités de ces faisceaux, pour 20 kV d’accélération, sont d’une cinquantaine de nA pour les ions atomiques, de plusieurs à dix nA pour les agrégats et autour du nA pour les nanoparticules de 400 atomes d’or. Le diamètre de ces faisceaux quasi parallèles injectés dans l’accélérateur est de l’ordre de 500 µm. Actuellement l’or et le bismuth sont utilisés, mais d’autres métaux comme le gallium, l’étain, l’indium, l’argent peuvent être envisagés.

Sources d’ions R&D

En complément à la plateforme accélératrice, des colonnes ioniques équipées de la source ECR et de la source NAPIS sont disponibles pour tester des développements de sources ou de produire de nouveaux faisceaux. Ces dispositifs sont aussi disponibles pour des analyses et des modifications de matériaux dans le domaine de la basse énergie de quelques keV. Les mêmes ions que ceux précédemment proposés à hautes énergies sont disponibles.

Responsables

Partenariats Equipex

Financement
Scientifique
Scientifique
Scientifique
Scientifique
Scientifique
Scientifique
Industriel

Collaborations

Scientifique
Scientifique
Scientifique
Scientifique
Scientifique
Industrielle
Industrielle
parallax background

Andromède pour tous

Andromède délivre des faisceaux atomiques du proton à l’or, les gaz rares He, Ne, Ar, Kr, Xe sont disponibles, des faisceaux moléculaires du plus simple CO, CH4 au C60 et des agrégats métalliques actuellement d’or du dimère à des nanoparticules de 1000 atomes sont aussi accélérés. Les énergies disponibles vont de quelques centaines de keV à plusieurs MeV.

Un aimant d’analyse permet la sélection en masse charge et énergie. Trois lignes disponibles correspondent aux angles de déviation de 90°, 70° pour les ions atomiques et moléculaires légers et 1°29 pour les ions agrégats et nanoparticules.

Sur la ligne à 90° et 70° peuvent être installés des expériences de physique nucléaire (par exemple Stella de l’IPHC), ou des postes d’irradiations pour simuler les effets des rayonnements.

Sur la ligne à 1°29, un spectromètre de masse avec un microscope à émission électronique et protonique permettent une imagerie ionique micrométrique. Cette ligne est ouverte pour des études d’interactions particules-surface, modification de solides, analyse de surface en imagerie ionique.

Science

Dans le domaine des nanotechnologies et des surfaces, Andromède répond au grand besoin d’outils d’analyses de surface à très haute résolution aussi bien en masse qu’en imagerie ionique. L’accès à la caractérisation chimique d’un volume nanométrique est envisagé.

Citoyen

Andromède aura un impact considérable dans le domaine de la santé par les études menées par exemple sur les bactéries et leurs interactions avec les cellules du cerveau aux intestins et ainsi mener à une compréhension des mécanismes néfastes mais parfois bénéfiques de ces interactions.

Recherche

Andromède reste unique en Europe par la large gamme de sondes disponibles et permet à la France de compléter sa panoplie de techniques de nano-caractérisation, d’analyse de surfaces et de simulations pour les matériaux dans les domaines de la chimie, la biologie et l’astrochimie.

Formation

Andromède sera utilisable par les doctorants et post-doctorants aussi bien pour une meilleure compréhension de l’interaction des ions avec la matière et les propriétés de la matière mais également pour le domaine de l’instrumentation de haute résolution.

Économie

L’utilisation d’Andromède par l’industrie permettra de réaliser des analyses dans des domaines très divers comme les matériaux, la santé et l’énergie.

Andromède

  • Institut de Physique Nucléaire d'Orsay (IPN)
    UMR8608 - Unité mixte de recherche
    Université Paris-Sud / CNRS-IN2P3

    Faculté des Sciences d'Orsay - Bâtiment 100A (accueil)
    15 rue Georges Clémenceau
    91406 Orsay cedex
  • +33 1 69 15 74 80

 
FR